‘Lenin & McCarthy’ Competition – RESULTS

I’m really rather pleased to (finally) announce the results for our ‘Songs of Lenin & McCarthy’ Competition, but first an apology.

Over the last six months, unfortunately things haven’t exactly run smoothly and  for many reasons this has managed to get in the way of a lot of the things I have been planning and trying to do with the Hedgehog Press.  I don’t really want to make excuses, but in trying to catch-up with other things, one that has taken me an age to get on top of has been this competition. Which is a shame as it is one that I was particularly keen on when I organised it.

Anyway, I just wanted to say sorry to everybody that has entered and had to wait an age for the results, but we got here in the end and there we are.

So long overdue they may be, but I’m really (really) pleased to be able to announce that the shortlisted poets who will have their poem included in the ‘Songs of Lenin & McCarthy’ anthology early next year:

1. Abi Roper

2. AJ Goryn

3. Anne Maguire

4. Belinda Rimmer

5. Carl Griffin

6. Carol Rosalind Smith

7. Ceinwen Haydon

8. Darren Beaney

9. Debjani Chatterjee

10. Denni Turp

11. Gaynor Kane

12. Genya Johnson

13. Geraldine Dudley

14. Isabelle Kenyon

15. Jenna Plewes (Selvas)

16. Karen Mooney

17. Kevan Taplin

18. Martin Malone

19. Patricia Bennett

20. Therese Kieran

The Overall Winner, who will receive a prize of £100, is: Anne Maguire

Additionally, Two Highly Commended Runners-up, Gaynor Kane and Karen Mooney will each receive a Prize of £25

I’d like to thank everybody who entered for their patience and importantly, apologise to the ever tolerant Matt Duggan who was originally scheduled to judge the competition. None of the issues were down to Matt who has been a total gent throughout and I certainly wouldn’t have wanted any blame attached to him for something that was quite simply out of his control. All mistakes are my own, as they say.

All the best

Mark Davidson
The Hedgehog Poetry Press

Please follow and like us:

Leave a Reply